« Back to list


Hurt has been my steady companion. This time, it’s personal.

With his third album, Aachen-based producer [basementgrrr] takes his next step: After the relaxed electronica of “Arrival/Departure” and the rhythmic workout of “A Certain Kind Of Decay” he took his time off to produce an album of immersive depth and intimate beauty. Built around shuffling downbeats – mostly sounding like played on real drums – accompanied with assorted electronics, warm analogue pads, gritty bass riffs and occasional vocals, he creates a compelling and cinematic style.

From the stunning cover art it is clear that this is an artist’s way of letting the listener take a peek into his soul. His gentle, but determined way is reflected in the contrast of beauty and heavy agony which permeates “Hurt” – sometimes within one song: “This is for the broken hearted” features bulging metal riffs – before changing into a majestic synth melody. Diversity is still [basementgrrr]’s trademark - vaguely trip-hop, but also with a post-rock-style elegance, allusions to Kraftwerkian electronics (“Ghetto Logic”) and the darker corners of the Massive Attack sound on “Naked”, which also features a heartbreaking vocal performance. “Hurt” sounds in larger parts like a movie score (“From a dream…”), “The Sound of Future London” is probably the wittiest tribute in a long time and the gentle outro “Underworld” finishes the album on a darker tone. And yet, [basementgrrr]’s work is completely coherent and authentic, the output of thoughtful producer, far from headstrong – pure joy for the electronic heads.

  • Artist / Producer
  • Release Date
  • Lenght
  • Available Formats
  • Cat. num (physical)
  • Cat. num (digital)
  • Label
  • Mastering
  • Cover
  • Layout
  • [basementgrrr]
  • 11/2017
  • 70:30
  • cd/digital
  • raum-cd-35
  • ---
  • Raumklang Music
  • A. Dietz
  • D. Geiger
  • D. Geiger

Additional information


all tracks written, arranged and produced by Ralf Gatzen @ roomwithaview studio
acoustic and electric guitars on track 6,8 and 12 by Ralf Gatzen
mastering by Alexander Dietz?
artwork and layout by Dirk Geiger?much
love & respect to Dirk Geiger and Alexander Dietz?
thanks to all supporters on the way !?
for Judith - we are like ducks!


01. Rituals

02. And Sleep Forever

03. Ghetto Logic feat. The I don't knows

04. Fear The Non-Converted

05. Ntage Tbe Verdrive

06. From A Dream, To The Grave, To Heaven

07. The Dogs Are Still Sleepin'

08. Naked feat. The Me

09. Machines Are Painting The Sky

10. The Sound Of Future London

11. This One's For The Broken-Hearted

12. Underworld

Buy CD

Buy digital